The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas


5-21 council swearing in.jpg

Anderson County Justice of the Peace James Todd, left, swears in, from left, new Palestine Mayor Therrell Thomas, District 2 Councilmember Vernon Denmon, District 6 Councilmember Steve Presley and District 2 Councilmember James Yelverton during a city council meeting Monday. Thomas, who most recently sat in the District 5 council seat, and Presley both faced and defeated opponents on the May 11 ballot, while Yelverton and Denmon ran unopposed.