The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Breaking News

May 27, 2014

Runoff election set today at annex


The day has arrived.


The runoff election for the Democratic and Republican Primary takes place today, with voters to decide several statewide and federal races.


According to Anderson County Election Clerk Casey Brown, polling places for this election have been consolidated to a single location — Suite 103A of the Anderson County Courthouse Annex, located at 703 N. Mallard St. in Palestine.


Voting takes place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


All qualified voters are eligible to vote in this runoff election for state and federal candidates, with no local candidates on the ballot.


Races and candidates on the Republican run-off ballot include: Texas Lieutenant Governor, Dan Patrick and David Dewhurst; Texas Attorney General, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch; Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, Sid Miller and Tommy Merritt; and Texas Railroad Commissioner, Ryan Sitton and Wayne Christian.


Races and candidates on the Democratic run-off ballot include: United States Senator, David M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers; and Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, Jim Hogan and Richard “Kinky” Friedman.


Winners of today's election, as well as winners of the previous March Primary election, will take their place on the general election ballot in November.


The photo ID law still applies to all elections, with voters casting a vote in person required to present an approved picture ID. For more information about the photo ID law, visit


For more information about the election, call the Anderson County Elections Office at 903-723-7822.

Text Only
Breaking News