The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local News

October 27, 2012

County sees over 3,500 in first days of early voting

PALESTINE — The Anderson County elections office is reporting a significant early voting turnout for the upcoming Nov. 6 national and local election, with over 3,500 local voters casting their ballots in the first four days.

Numbers released by the office show that 3,555 early votes have been cast as of Thursday, with a breakdown of 952 voters on Monday, 969 voters on Tuesday, 804 voters on Wednesday and 830 voters on Thursday.

Early voting continues from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Sunday and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Anderson County Courthouse Annex, located at 703 N. Mallard St. in Palestine.

The Nov. 6 general election ballot features the presidential race, in addition to key national, state and precinct races.

At the local level, Precinct 1 voters in Anderson County will be deciding a commissioner’s race, with newcomer Greg Chapin facing longtime Democratic incumbent Joe Chaffin, and a constable — Republican Ronnie Foster facing incumbent Larry Bennett in Precinct 1 as well.

Precinct 2 voters also will be picking a constable, with Republican incumbent Doug Lightfoot facing newcomer Democrat Horace Poullard on the ballot.

County Elections Administrator Casey Brown also noted that her office will jointly be conducting the Neches Independent School District’s board of trustees election. Like the general election, all early voting in the Neches ISD election will take place at the Courthouse Annex.

There are no countywide races in Anderson County this fall.

At the federal level, voters will decide three races — that of the President and Vice President, as well as a U.S. Senate race and the race for a U.S. Representative for District 5.

State races include: Railroad Commissioner; Railroad Commissioner Unexpired Term; Supreme Court Justice, Places 2, 4 and 6; Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals; Judge Court of Criminal Appeals, Places 7 and 8; State Board of Education Member, District 9; State Senator, District 3; State Representative, District 8; Justice, 12th Court of Appeals District, Place 3; District Judges, 3rd Judicial District and the 349th Judicial District.

All Anderson County residents waiting until the Nov. 6 Election Day to cast their ballot should do so from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at their usual polling place.

Mary Rainwater may be reached via e-mail at

Text Only
Local News