The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

February 2, 2013

Anderson County officials to begin Leadership Academy

Staff Reports
Palestine Herald-Press

PALESTINE — Three members of the Anderson County Commissioners Court were recently named part of a group of 17 county judges and commissioners to be accepted into the Commissioners Court Leadership Academy offered by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service’s V.G. Young Institute of County Government.

“The academy enhances leadership skills and provides specialized resources for class members,” said Rick Avery, institute director. “We commend the desire of our academy applicants to become better, more knowledgeable leaders.”

The academy is a two-year educational program that aims to increase knowledge of county government and the way governments interact at all levels; to help leaders become better communicators with other government officials, members of the media and community residents; to improve leadership and decision-making skills; and to improve the leaders’ ability to serve as an advocate for local issues on all levels of government, Avery said.

Accepted from Anderson County are County Judge Robert Johnston, Precinct 3 Commissioner Kenneth Dickson and Precinct 4 Commissioner Joey Hill.

Other Class V members include: Mark Barr, Howard County judge; Jacques Blanchette, Tyler County judge; Mike DeLoach, Lamb County judge; Joe Gonzalez, Nueces County commissioner;  Kenny Howell, Johnson County commissioner; Clint Ives, Victoria County commissioner; Donna Klaeger, Burnet County judge; Bill McCay, Lubbock County commissioner; Doug Page, Trinity County judge; A.J. Peek, Clay County commissioner; Luis Sanchez, Midland County commissioner; Rusty Senac, Chambers County commissioner; Butch Warren, Navarro County commissioner; and Lloyd Wassermann, Brazos County commissioner.

In Texas, a five-member county commissioners court exists in each of the state’s 254 counties. To date, 58 individuals have completed the program, Avery said.