The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local News

May 17, 2014

Early voting for May 27 Primary Runoff Election begins Monday


This is it until November.

Early voting for the May 27 Democratic and Republican Primary Run-Off Election will begin Monday and end on Friday, May 23.

All qualified voters are eligible to vote in this election, with voting taking place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Anderson County Courthouse Annex, 703 N. Mallard St., Suite 103A in Palestine.

The run-off will be conducted for state and federal candidates, with no local candidates on the ballot.

Races and candidates on the Republican run-off ballot include: Lieutenant Governor, Dan Patrick and David Dewhurst; Attorney General, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch; Commissioner of Agriculture, Sid Miller and Tommy Merritt; and Railroad Commissioner, Ryan Sitton and Wayne Christian.

Races and candidates on the Democratic run-off ballot include: United States Senator, David M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers; and Commissioner of Agriculture, Jim Hogan and Richard “Kinky” Friedman.

Election Day voting will be conducted from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on May 27 at a single polling location — the Anderson County Courthouse Annex.

Winners of the May 27 election, as well as winners of the previous March Primary election, will take their place on the general election ballot in November.

The photo ID law still applies to all elections, with voters casting a vote in person required to present an approved picture ID. For more information about the photo ID law, visit

For more information about the election, call the Anderson County Elections Office at 903-723-7855.

Text Only
Local News