The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local News

May 27, 2014

Anderson County voters decide state, federal races in primary runoff election

PALESTINE — The results of Anderson County's Republican and Democratic Primary runoff election Tuesday reflected well the choices of voters all across Texas, with a total of 1,740 Anderson County pollsters marking the box for their choice of candidate in state and federal races.

A total of 963 early votes were cast locally, with 865 of those being Republican and 98 being Democrat.

On the Republican side, a total of 1,589 county residents cast votes in the four races on that ballot, with candidate Dan Patrick gaining the most votes over 3-term incumbent David Dewhurst in the Texas Lieutenant Governor's race — 1,081 to 483 votes, respectively.

The Texas Attorney General's race went to candidate Ken Paxton, who defeated Dan Branch with a total of 1,060 to 517 local votes, respectively.

Sid Miller won his bid for Texas Commissioner of Agriculture over fellow Republican Tommy Merritt, with Miller receiving 853 Anderson County votes against Merritt's 657 votes. That spot is currently held by Palestine native Todd Staples, who lost his bid for Lieutenant Governor in March.

The race for Texas Railroad Commissioner was won by Ryan Sitton, who received 823 local votes over candidate Wayne Christian's 713 votes.

A total of 151 Democrats cast votes for Tuesday's election, with races for United States Senator and Texas Commissioner of Agriculture being decided on those ballots.

Candidate David M. Alameel won the race for U.S. Senator, receiving 123 local votes to opponent Kesha Rogers' 27 votes. Alameel will face Republican incumbent John Cornyn on the general election ballot this November.

Jim Hogan defeated candidate Richard “Kinky” Friedman for the Democrat's Commissioner of Agriculture spot, with a vote of 96-55 vote, respectively. Hogan will face Republican Miller on the general election ballot.

Text Only
Local News