The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local News

May 24, 2014

Primary runoff election set Tuesday

Polling locations consolidated to county courthouse annex


Early voting for the May 27 Democratic and Republican Primary Run-Off Election wrapped up at 5 p.m. Friday, with almost 700 voters making their way to the Anderson County Courthouse Annex during the five-day period to cast votes.

Those planning to cast votes in the regular election Tuesday can also head to the Annex on that date, as all the usual election polling places have been consolidated into the one central location. Voting takes place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Suite 103A of the annex, located at 703 N. Mallard St. in Palestine.

All qualified voters are eligible to vote in this runoff election for state and federal candidates, with no local candidates on the ballot.

Races and candidates on the Republican run-off ballot include: Texas Lieutenant Governor, Dan Patrick and David Dewhurst; Texas Attorney General, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch; Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, Sid Miller and Tommy Merritt; and Texas Railroad Commissioner, Ryan Sitton and Wayne Christian.

Races and candidates on the Democratic run-off ballot include: United States Senator, David M. Alameel and Kesha Rogers; and Texas Commissioner of Agriculture, Jim Hogan and Richard “Kinky” Friedman.

Winners of Tuesday's election, as well as winners of the previous March Primary election, will take their place on the general election ballot in November.

The photo ID law still applies to all elections, with voters casting a vote in person required to present an approved picture ID. For more information about the photo ID law, visit

For more information about the election, call the Anderson County Elections Office at 903-723-7822.

Text Only
Local News