The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

November 8, 2013

Filing for March 2014 primary election begins Saturday

Palestine Herald-Press

PALESTINE — With one election put to bed, its is already time to wake the next as filings for the March 4, 2014 Federal, State and County Primary Election officially begin on Saturday and conclude on Monday, Dec. 9.

Filings can be done during regular office hours at the Anderson County Elections Office, located in the Anderson County Courthouse Annex on Mallard Street in Palestine.

The following offices are up for election in 2014 (current office holders are in parenthesis):



• United States Senator (John Cornyn, R)

• U.S. Representative — 5th Congressional District (Jeb Hensarling, R)



• Governor (Rick Perry, R)

• Lt. Governor (David Dewhurst, R)

• Texas Attorney General (Greg Abbott, R,)

• Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (Susan Combs, R)

• Commissioner of General Land Office (Jerry Patterson, R)

• Commissioner of Agriculture (Todd Staples, R)

• State Railroad Commissioner (Barry Smitherman, R)

• Texas Supreme Court

Chief Justice, Place 1 (Wallace B. Jefferson)

Justice, Place 7 (Jeffrey S. Boyd)

Justice, Place 8 (Phil Johnson)

• Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge, Place 3 (Tom Price)

Judge, Place 4 (Paul Womack)

Judge, Place 9 (Cathy Cochran)

• State Senator — District 3 (Robert Nichols, R)

• State Representatives — District 8 (Byron Cook, R-Corsicana)

• Chief Justice of Courts of Appeals — 12th Court of Appeals (Tyler, Chief Justice James T. Worthen of Big Sandy)



• District Judges

87th Judicial District Judge (Debra Oakes Evans, R)

369th Judicial District Judge (Bascom W. Bentley III, R)

• District Attorney (Doug Lowe, R)

• County Judge (Robert Johnston, R)

• Judge, County Court at Law (Jeff Doran, R)

• District Clerk (Janice Staples, D)

• County Clerk (Wanda Burke, D, retiring)

• County Treasurer (Kim Turman, R)

• County Surveyor (Gene Russell, D)

• County Commissioners

Precinct 2 (Rashad Q. Mims I, D)

Precinct 4 (Joey Hill, R)

• Justices of the Peace

JP 1 (Gary Thomas, D)

JP2 (Carl E. Davis, D)

JP3 (James E. Todd, D)

JP4 (James W. Westley, R)


The early voting period for the March 4, 2014 Primary Election takes place Feb. 18-28, 2014. A primary run-off election date has been scheduled for May 27, 2014, with early voting for that election taking place May 19-23, 2014.

For more information about elections and candidate filings, visit