The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

December 4, 2013

Primary election filings continue

Last day to file for March 2014 Primary Election is Monday, Dec. 9

Palestine Herald-Press


As the last day of filings for the March 4, 2013 primary elections approaches, candidates at the local, state and federal levels are continuing to place their names on the ballot.

At the county level, Republican incumbent District Attorney Doug Lowe will face Allyson Mitchell on the Republican primary ballot.

Current Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace James W. Westley has filed to run for county judge and will face incumbent Robert Johnston on the March Republican ballot. Westley is forgoing re-election to the JP spot in order to run for the judge's seat.

Newcomer James Sharp, a Republican, has filed to run for Westley's JP spot, with Precinct 2 JP Carl Davis, a Democrat, and Precinct 1 JP incumbent Gary Thomas, a Republican, also filing for re-election.

Republican State District Judges Debra Oakes Evans (87th Judicial District) and Bascom W. Bentley III (369th Judicial District) as well as County Court at Law Judge Jeff Doran, a Republican, all have filed for re-election to their respective seats.

District Clerk Janice Staples and Precinct 4 Commissioner Joey Hill; and Democrat incumbent Precinct 2 Commissioner Rashad Mims I and have all filed for re-election.

Newcomer Republican Michael W. Lumpkins of Palestine has filed for the Precinct 2 Commissioner seat and Republican candidates Mark C. Staples and Misty Cross, both of Palestine, have filed for the county clerk's seat, currently held by Democrat Wanda Burke who recently announced her retirement at the end of 2014.

Republican newcomers Tara Lambright Holliday of Elkhart and Rafael Hernandez of Palestine have filed to run for the country treasurer seat, currently held by Republican Kim Turman, who has not yet filed for re-election.


At the state level, Republican incumbents District 3 State Senator Robert Nichols of Jacksonville and District 8 State Representative Byron Cook of Corsicana had filed for re-election, with Republican Bobby Vickery, also of Corsicana, filing for the District 8 spot as well.

Several Texans have cast their bid for election to the state's top spot as governor, with Republicans Miriam Martinez, Lisa Fritsch, (current Texas Attorney General) Greg Abbott, SECEDE Kilgore and Democrats Wendy R. Davis of Fort Worth and Reynaldo “Ray” Madrigal of Corpus Christi all filing to run in the primary election.

In the Lieutenant Governor's race, Republicans Jerry Patterson (current General Land Office commissioner), incumbent David Dewhurst of Houston, Palestine's own Todd Staples (current Commissioner of Agriculture) and Democratic candidate (and current state senator for the 26th District) Leticia Van de Putte of San Antonio, all have filed for that coveted state position.

Republicans Barry Smitherman of Houston (current Texas Railroad Commissioner), Dan Branch of Dallas and Ken Paxton have filed for Abbott's seat as Texas AG, with Democrat Sam Houston of Houston also filing for Attorney General.

Republicans Harvey Hilderbran of Kerrville, Glenn Hegar of Katy and Debra Medina of Wharton as well as Democrat Mike Collier of Kingwood are vying for the seat of Texas Comptroller Susan Combs, a Republican.

Several Republican candidates have filed for Staples' Commissioner of Agriculture seat, including Republicans Eric Opiela, J. Allen Carnes of Uvalde, Sid Miller of Stephenville and Tommy Merritt of Longview as well as Democrat candidate Jim Hogan of Cleburne.

Other state level filings include:

• Commissioner of General Land Office (currently held by Patterson) — Democrat John Cook of El Paso; Republicans David Watts of Judson and George P. Bush of Austin.

• State Railroad Commissioner — Republicans Malachi Boyuls, Becky Berger and Wayne Christian of Center; Democrat Steve Brown of Missouri City.

• Texas Supreme Court, Chief Justice — Republican incumbent Nathan Hecht.

• Texas Supreme Court, Place 7 — Republican Jeffrey S. Boyd of Austin.

• Chief Justice of Court of Appeals, 12th Court of Appeals (Tyler) — Republican incumbent James T. Worthen of Big Sandy.


At the federal level, U.S. Representative for the 5th Congressional District Jeb Hensarling, R-Dallas, has filed for re-election to his seat.

Eight candidates, including Republican incumbent John Cornyn, have filed for his expiring United States Senate seat, including Republicans Linda Vega, Reid Reasor, Chris Mapp of Port O'Connor, and Dwayne Stovall and Democrats Maxey Marie Scherr of El Paso, Michael “Fjet” Fjetland of Sugar Land and Harry Kim of Midland.


Other offices that are up for election in 2014 include (incumbents are in parenthesis):


• County Surveyor (Gene Russell, D)

• Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace (James E. Todd, D)


• Texas Supreme Court Justice, Place 8 (Phil Johnson)

• Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge, Place 3 (Tom Price)

Judge, Place 4 (Paul Womack)

Judge, Place 9 (Cathy Cochran)

Application filings continue through Monday and take place at the offices of respective party chairpersons.

Anderson County Republicans wishing to file their application should do so at the Republican Party Headquarters, 515 N Church St., or by calling Anderson County Republican Party Chairman Michael Mart at 903-729-3289.

Anderson County Democrats, meanwhile, should contact Anderson County Democratic Party Chairman J. Larry Davis at 903-922-3519.

The early voting period for the March 4, 2014 Primary Election takes place Feb. 18-28, 2014. A primary run-off election date has been scheduled for May 27, 2014, with early voting for that election taking place May 19-23, 2014.

For more information about elections and candidate filings, visit