The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local News

November 8, 2012

Majority of Anderson County voters lean toward Republican candidates

PALESTINE — With the exception of a single county precinct race, Anderson County voters caused a Republican sweep in Tuesday’s general election, with as much as 84 percent of the 16,257 votes counted cast for the GOP in contested races.

Just over 6,000 voters (70 percent) voted straight-party Republican, with about 2,400 voting a straight Democratic ticket.

Votes for Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney were similar, with just over 75 percent of voters casting their ballots in his favor. Statewide results were quite a bit lower, with Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan receiving 57 percent of the vote for president.

In the race for U.S. Senator for Texas, Anderson County voters elected republican candidate Ted Cruz to the post with 11,465 votes (71 percent) cast versus democratic candidate Paul Sadler, who received 4,140 votes.

Cruz received just over 56 percent of the Texas vote, with Sadler garnering 40 percent of the vote.

Republic Incumbent Jeb Hensarling will keep his seat as U.S. Representative for Texas District 5 — receiving 11,850 local votes (74.5 percent) over democratic candidate Linda S. Mrosko’s 3,709 votes.

Those numbers almost reflected the statewide vote, with Hensarling receiving 64 percent of the vote to win re-election.

In state races, local voters helped OK Byron Cook as the returning District 8 State Representative — casting 11,705 votes (74 percent) for the Republican incumbent.

Cook’s statewide numbers were similar, with the incumbent earning just under 73 percent of the vote over Democratic candidate Charles Morgans 27 percent.

Local races were consistently Republican-won, except for that of Precinct 1 Constable, where longtime Democratic incumbent Larry Bennett won a sixth term Tuesday — receiving 55 percent of the vote over Ronnie Foster’s almost 45 percent of the vote.

The Race for Precinct 1 Commissioner and Precinct 2 Constable were both Republican victories, with 20-year Precinct 1 Commissioner Joe Chaffin losing his seat to Republican Greg Chapin by a close 44 votes.

Precinct 2 Constable, Republican Doug Lightfoot, won a third term for his seat, garnering 62 percent of the votes over opposing candidate Horace Poullard’s almost 38 percent of the vote.

Also in Anderson County, several local races were uncontested, with those candidates beginning new terms in 2013.

Those races include: County Sheriff Greg Taylor; County Tax Assessor-Collector Teri Garvey; Precinct 3 Commissioner Kenneth Dickson; Precinct 3 Constable Kim Dickson; Precinct 4 Constable Gary Briley; State Senator, District 3, Robert Nichols; District Judge, 3rd Judicial District, Mark A. Calhoon; and District Judge, 349th Judicial District, Pam Foster Fletcher.

The Anderson County Elections Office also conducted the Neches Independent School District trustee race Tuesday, with voters electing Blake Rogers, Jack Wedgeworth, Luther E. Scott and Joshua Kincade to serve on the board.

Local results from Tuesday’s general election can be found online at The results are not official until canvassed by the commissioner’s court.


Mary Rainwater may be reached via e-mail at


Text Only
Local News