The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Local Sports

February 28, 2013

H.S. Boys Basketball: Locals litter 19-3A, 19-2A all-district squads

After a season in which his team went 9-1 in district and claimed a district crown, Westwood’s Dra Ross earned 19-2A’s top honor.

The senior was named the District 19-2A Most Valuable Player on the all-district team released this week, after all the district’s teams were eliminated from playoff contention.

Ross helped lead the Panthers back to the postseason last year, the team’s first appearance since the 1990s.

This year, Ross and Westwood did two-better, winning the district crown and advancing to the regional quarterfinals, where they fell to second-ranked and defending state champion White Oak, 69-57.

For the first time in eight years, Elkhart also found its way back to the postseason, and leading-scorer Jacob Cheatham was named the district’s co-Offensive Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Woden’s Blake Reimer.

For getting his squad back to the postseason, Elkhart’s Ryan Blackmon shared Coach of the Year honors with the last man to lead Elkhart to the postseason: Westwood coach Scott Nettles.

The Westwood trio of L.J. Hutchison, Chris Thompson and J.J. Turner all earned first-team honors, as did Elkhart’s Brian Johnson.

On the second team, Westwood’s Josh Denby joined Elkhart’s Cole Bridges and Luke Hollingsworth.

Earning an honorable mention nod was Westwood’s Demontrey House..

Westwood’s La’Rodney Brown and Chris Thompson, along with Elkhart’s Luis Banuelos and Jordan Ives, were named to the academic all-district team.

Crockett’s Mathew Schaefer was named the district’s Defensive MVP, while Central Heights sophomore Harrison Perkins and Woden freshman Ja’michael Tanner shared Newcomer of the Year honors.


After getting back to the postseason for the first time since 2006, and earning the program’s first playoff win since 2005, the Palestine boys’ basketball team placed two players on the 19-3A all-district first team.

The team’s lone senior, Shumauri Scott, was named a first-teamer, as was junior Ben Luckett.

Sophomore Gee Clark and junior Sheldon Watson were named to the second team, while junior Tony Butler earned an honorable mention nod.

Mexia junior Kaylon Watson was named the district’s Most Valuable Player, while Fairfield senior Aaron Heers was named the Offensive MVP.

Mexia juniors LaVictory McKnight and Damion Matthews were named Defensive MVP and Newcomer of the Year, respectively, while Fairfield’s Joey Worley and Brian Merrick earned Coach of the Year honors.

Text Only
Local Sports