The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

December 3, 2012

H.S. Football: Frankston's Buckner named 10-2A Newcomer of the Year

Staff Reports

— Despite missing the playoffs for the first time in three seasons, the Frankston football team received plenty of honors from the District 10-2A, Division II coaches on the all-district squads released this week.

Ozzie Buckner, who took over at quarterback early in the season, was named the district’s Newcomer of the Year. Buckner threw for 1,213 yards and 14 touchdowns on the season, completing more than 50 percent of his passes along the way.

Senior running back Caleb Williams was named to the first team offense, as was offensive lineman Dustin House. A pair of Indian wide receivers — Kendrick Rogers and Cory Warren — were also first teamers.

House was one of five Indians earning double honors, but the only one to land on both the offensive and defensive first teams. Along with his offensive line play, House was named a first team nose guard.

Daniel Grisham was named a first team defensive back and a second team wide receiver, while Cole Shoemaker was a first team safety on defense and a second team wide receiver.

Joining them on the first team defense was J.J. Kummer at defensive tackle, while earning second team offensive line honors as well. Warren was named a second team defensive back.

Tye Griffin and Hunter Mewbourn both earned first team linebacker spots on defense, with Griffin inside and Mewbourn outside.

Humberto Chavez was named the first team kicker and Victor Pizano was named first team utility player.

Kaivon Jackson was named a second team defensive tackle, with Jessie Davis joining him on the second team defensive line at defensive end.

Charles Minchew and Evan Morris were named the second team’s inside linebackers, while Oran Jenkins and Cory Winks earned second team defensive back honors.

Gage Hart was named the second-team punter.

Martez Allen, Jordan Chalk, Will Marshall, John Ross and Zach Wright all earned honorable mention honors.