Palestineherald.com: Opinion

Opinion

rss feed

Top Story

Local Gas Prices

  • icon Posted: September 22

Recent Headlines

Monday 11/30/2015
Judge Evans: Clarify your gag order or get off the campsite murder case
Posted: November 30, 2015

District Judge Deborah Oakes Evans either doesn’t understand the constitutional right of the press to publish or she inadvertently granted a defense attorney motion for a sweeping prior restraint on news coverage of the Tennessee Colony mass murder case.

Saturday 10/17/2015
We need a reason for manager's leave
Posted: October 17, 2015

After another late-night, closed-door executive session Monday, the Palestine City Council placed City Manager Wendy Ellis on administrative leave with pay.

Tuesday 10/13/2015
Immigrants put food on our table
Posted: October 13, 2015

Politicians—and would be politicians—rant and rave about immigrant labor in the U.S. Some want all illegal immigrants without papers deported immediately. Others want to give the immigrants a chance to achieve permanent residence in our nation. Thank goodness we have a large number of immigrants—documented and otherwise—who are working to keep our economy moving. From working on highways, to home construction, to farm labor, those willing-worker immigrants are on the job. All this while many U.S. citizens sit home and exist on food stamps and subsidized housing and free medical care.

Friday 08/28/2015
Letter: Protests, no matter what for, are still legal in the US
Posted: August 28, 2015

Editor:

Thursday 08/27/2015
Letter: Palestine firefighters need a raise
Posted: August 27, 2015

Editor:

Saturday 08/01/2015
Simple summer suppers
Posted: August 01, 2015

We are always looking for quick and easy meals to prepare for dinner and one of my favorites is pasta.

Friday 07/17/2015
Don’t Get Caught in the Trap
Posted: July 17, 2015

We are creatures of habit. We love routine. Why? When an action creates a desired response such as “That was easy” or “That felt good”, our brain tells us that is good so we do it again. It is not necessarily something that is good for us or those around us but the conditioning of our brain will store that thought or feeling so that we will do it again. Eventually, if repeated, we will do it without even thinking about it. We call this “routine or “habit”. If you are not aware that what you are doing is not going to create the long term results that you want then you get trapped in your unawareness and will eventually ask yourself how you got yourself in this position.

Caveat Renter: Beware of Local Rental Scams
Posted: July 17, 2015

This is a public service announcement, of sorts. Unfortunately, people in Palestine are being scammed—these criminals are scamming rental listings, renters, agents and landlords.  This is something to be aware of for both renters and landlords, as it is getting more common.  The internet is a great way to find your next rental, but always be cautious of scams when searching online.  Always remember that anyone, anywhere can post anything online with the click of a mouse—whether it is with malicious intent or not. Use some of these tips to avoid a rental scam:

Thursday 06/04/2015
Hey! Why’s my paper different?
Posted: June 04, 2015

You may have noticed some different items in your paper this week.

Friday 05/01/2015
Have your cake, and frosting too
Posted: May 01, 2015

We are on the verge of farmers market and garden season and will soon have plenty of great vegetables, fruits and fresh ingredients, but while we are waiting I wanted to continue the topic of desert.

Monday 04/27/2015
Some ideas to start healing at Neches
Posted: April 27, 2015

Editor:

Friday 04/24/2015
Cooking with Simon: Go bananas over dessert
Posted: April 24, 2015

Last week in Cooking with Simon we talked about types of lettuce, a variety of salads and the great dressings that makes all of it delicious. If you missed any of those recipes, you can always find them at palestineherald.com.

Thursday 04/09/2015
Time to plant and time for asparagus
Posted: April 09, 2015

Palestine has seen a lot of cool days and rainy weather. So when you have a sunny day it’s time to get outside and get caught up on some yard work.

Sunday 04/05/2015
Holy Week: An invitation to a spiritual journey
Posted: April 05, 2015

March 29, began the Christian observance of Holy Week. I wonder, maybe sometimes we forget the true events of this week. Has it become just a holiday? Communion or Lord’s Supper just another church ritual?

Proof of the Resurrection
Posted: April 05, 2015

Easter Sunday is the day we Christians celebrate the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus. But did he really rise again? If he didn't, then he was a liar – or a madman. If he didn't rise again, then our faith is useless and there is no life after death. The whole Bible is a lie, in fact, if Jesus didn't rise again. So, is there any real evidence that the resurrection of Jesus actually happened – or is it just a myth? I want to share some of the solid evidence that Jesus’ resurrection really did happen:

Celebrating Easter with flowers and flavors
Posted: April 05, 2015

It’s the last weekend of the Dogwood Trails Celebration and there are still a lot of events that are happening all around town.

Friday 04/03/2015
Letter: TEA not needed at Neches ISD
Posted: April 03, 2015

Editor:

Tuesday 03/31/2015
Goat Gossip: It's gonna get wet, wild, and wormy!
Posted: March 31, 2015

Spring is fixin’ to be sprung! The grass and forbs are sprouting and trees are budding and kids are being born and all sorts of flora and fauna are bustin’ loose! With the beneficial rains have come a rebirth of our Earth!

Saturday 03/28/2015
TEA needs to step in at Neches
Posted: March 28, 2015

Wednesday’s meeting of the Neches ISD School Board was more of the same as the board deliberated late into the night at Neches High School.

Friday 03/27/2015
Rainy days bring new recipes
Posted: March 27, 2015

After last week’s rain showers I am looking forward to a sunny weekend, lots of spring flowers and plenty of Dogwood festivities. Being cooped up on a rainy day is always good for trying out a few new recipes. The test kitchen was open and a few rainy days yielded some new creative dishes for upcoming dinners, cooking classes and bed & breakfast guests.

Friday 03/13/2015
Spring into action with Soufflés
Posted: March 13, 2015

It’s time to spring into action! And I don’t mean flowers, spring-cleaning, or outdoor activities. I am talking about soufflés – these beautiful culinary creations that rise to the occasion and spring up like daffodils or tulips from the garden.

New additions coming to the Herald-Press
Posted: March 13, 2015

The past few months have come, and gone, like one of those Texas whirlwinds I used to hear about in Indiana. I have enjoyed my time in Palestine so far, and my family is now experiencing how great Anderson County and the state of Texas has been to me.

Friday 03/06/2015
Reaching Out: God is still in control
Posted: March 06, 2015

At this very moment someone, somewhere is experiencing a crisis in their life. I certainly have had my share of them. Many face hardship, losses and hurt. In the Old Testament we can learn much from Joseph. I think from a very young age he knew that something was wrong. Later, I am sure he came to the conclusion that the hate and resentment ran deep as a river. He was Jacob’s favorite son. Jacob, loved him I don’t think more than his other sons but sibling rivalry developed within the family.

Cooking in the Great Outdoors
Posted: March 06, 2015

I am writing this story on a cold, wet and dreary Texas winter day. We seem to be getting a lot of these lately. But maybe, if were lucky, by the time you are reading this it will warm up and the sun will come out.

Friday 02/27/2015
Weekends Breakfast is Always a Treat
Posted: February 27, 2015

You’ve heard the saying, “Be careful what you wish for it might come true.” Well that seems to be happening at Sabor a Pasion. The new bed & breakfast cabins have been keeping me busy and I’ve started to cook breakfast for people as often as I cook dinner.

Friday 02/20/2015
Revisiting a Favorite Childhood Dessert
Posted: February 20, 2015

Last week I had the chance to appear on KLTV in Tyler. They asked if I could create a special recipe for Valentine’s Day. Of course, the first thing that came to mind is that it needed to be something chocolate.

Friday 02/13/2015
Valentine's dinner at home
Posted: February 13, 2015

Flowers. Check. Chocolates. Check. Valentine’s Day Card. Check. Dinner Reservations. Sorry, too late! You might have experienced this if you’ve tried to get a dinner reservation this week. This year Valentine’s Day is on a Saturday so most restaurants have been sold out for several weeks.

Thursday 02/12/2015
Stepping out in faith
Posted: February 12, 2015

God’s call comes in many ways. For some it is to be a dedicated Bible Study teacher, work in the Church nursery or minister to young people. For Palestine residents Wade and Judy Hobbs, it is to step out in faith and leave Palestine, to be a part of a missions mobilization for Crossover Communications International.

Friday 02/06/2015
Red is the Color of Love and Good Food
Posted: February 06, 2015

It's almost Valentine’s Day and all the men out there need to start thinking of the color red – red for love, red for flowers and yes, red for food.

Friday 01/30/2015
Winter Comfort Food on A Budget
Posted: January 30, 2015

In January we all have some common goals. Stay warm and pay off some of those Christmas bills that are coming in. Also, with the rising cost of food, economical recipes are a plus.

Saturday 01/24/2015
Food Trends As Popular as Fashion
Posted: January 24, 2015

Food fads come and go and I have seen many of them rise and fall in my 40 years of cooking in a professional kitchen. It’s a bit like the clothing industry. Things change by the season and also from new generations that discover things forgotten.

Friday 01/09/2015
Traditional British food & lifestyle
Posted: January 09, 2015

A new season of Downton Abbey is on the air, and while the era has come and gone, everyone who is a fan of the show enjoys learning about the manners, food and lifestyle of an English manor.

Friday 12/26/2014
Cooking with Simon: Easy and Cheesy Ideas for New Year’s Parties
Posted: December 26, 2014

We’ve all had a long December filled with shopping, festive lights, parties and, finally, presents wrapped and under the tree. I hope you had a few days to relax with family and friends and enjoy some nice food and special moments around the table.

Saturday 12/20/2014
Good and Bad luck in Real Estate
Posted: December 20, 2014

There are superstitions everywhere. Lucky numbers, unlucky numbers, salt over your shoulder, black cats…there are so many superstitions, I am sure I don’t even know most of them. I am not one to believe in most of them, but at the same time, I don’t purposefully go around breaking mirrors and running under ladders, either! (Hey, better safe than sorry, right!?)  Believe it or not, there are many superstitions in Real Estate!

The mysterious mission statement
Posted: December 20, 2014

At some point, whether you have a business in operation or are planning to open one, there has been this term that you have come across called, the mission statement. There are a lot of definitions and explanations of what a mission statement should be. They are not wrong but many times the “Mission Statement” is written by some anonymous person and you adopt it into your business plan. The problem with it is that no one knows what it should mean, including you.

Fluffy Flakes of Dreamy Coconut
Posted: December 20, 2014

I don’t think there’s much chance of a white Christmas in East Texas this year, but it is fun to dream.

Saturday 12/13/2014
Open Season for Flavor
Posted: December 13, 2014

When guests come to Sabor a Pasion they love to sit on the deck and Tuscan table that faces the vineyard. As the evening begins to cool and the sun sets over the vines, our furry friends in the woods begin to come alive for a show.

Monday 12/08/2014
HB 139 is not good government
Posted: December 08, 2014

We must hold our governing bodies accountable. If House Bill 139 is passed in the upcoming Texas legislative session, our job of holding government accountable will become more difficult.

Saturday 12/06/2014
Cooking with Simon: Tis the Season for giving holiday food
Posted: December 06, 2014

The countdown to Christmas is upon us and these busy days seem to fly by faster than reindeers in the sky on Christmas Eve.

Friday 11/28/2014
Cooking with Simon: Making the Most of Leftover Turkey
Posted: November 28, 2014

Hopefully you’ve recovered from your turkey day coma, and the fast food you might have gulped down during your Black Friday shopping.

Saturday 11/22/2014
The redemption of Adrian Peterson
Posted: November 22, 2014

The child abuse case of Palestine’s Adrian Peterson has become a black mark on the city of Palestine.

Friday 11/21/2014
Enjoying Thanksgiving Leftovers Around The Globe
Posted: November 21, 2014

With the recent cold weather you may be thinking that it feels a bit more like Christmas than Thanksgiving. But wait, we still have to tackle turkey day before we can start hanging the stockings and decking the halls.

Saturday 11/08/2014
Cooking with Simon: A Squashing Good Time!
Posted: November 08, 2014

As you browse the supermarket this time of year, there are a lot of squash, pumpkins and gourds on display. They’re all very colorful and beautiful. Some are just for decoration, while others are grown for cooking and eating.

Monday 11/03/2014
It's still important to vote
Posted: November 03, 2014

Today is Election Day. Voters from all over Anderson County will be heading to the polls to cast ballots in local, state and federal races.

Thursday 10/30/2014
Cooking with Simon: Balsamic Vinegar Dresses More than a Salad
Posted: October 30, 2014

Last week in Cooking with Simon, we talked about cleaning out the pantry, spice cabinet, refrigerator and freezer.

Saturday 10/25/2014
Cooking with Simon: Hot Peppers and Prep for the Holidays
Posted: October 25, 2014

Thanksgiving will be here before you know it, a time when families come together from all parts of the country for food, fun and celebrating the blessings of life.

Saturday 10/18/2014
Cooking with Simon: Fall is Time for Souper Soups
Posted: October 18, 2014

Last week in Cooking with Simon, I wrote about the ease and wonderful benefits of making your own broth. If you missed the story, you can find it on www.palestinehearald.com.

Thursday 10/16/2014
Cooking with Simon: Homemade stock warms the soul
Posted: October 16, 2014

It’s beginning to look a lot like fall and hopefully the temperatures will begin to drop soon. But at the first sign of turning leaves, thoughts of warm, rich soup becomes a craving that starts deep in your soul. But don’t reach for a can when you get that craving – make your own.

Sunday 10/05/2014
At least try, when going to a courtroom
Posted: October 05, 2014

Wednesday’s announcement of rules for Anderson County courts was very surprising.

 

coupons
ADVERTISERS
  • The 2015 college football season is heating up, and now is your chance to get in on the action with the other members of the College Football Experts Club game. No drafts, rosters or trades. Simply pick the winners of each game and earn points. Play to win great prizes and a chance to reign as the champ!
  • Sign Up Now!

Palestine Herald Twitter

PHP Sports