The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Opinion

May 17, 2014

COOKING WITH SIMON: Favorite dessert for moms

PALESTINE — Last week I loved seeing many great tributes to moms and wonderful ways to honor Mother’s Day.

I lost my mother and a very special aunt last year so the day, for me, was rather poignant.

Fortunately, I had the opportunity to cater the Harvey Woman’s Club Mother’s Day luncheon. This group of ladies have embraced me since coming to town 10 years ago, and many of them have been like adopted moms.

It means a lot to have people in your life who feel like family – especially when your own family is half way around the world.

For dessert on Sunday I served a favorite of my mum – English Sherry Trifle. It’s a wonderful layering of pound cake, strawberry jam, custard and cream sherry.

The ladies at the club twisted my arm and asked if I would put the recipe in this week’s column. They loved the dessert and I have never seen so many clean plates and happy smiles.

My mum would make the trifle and chill it down in the fridge. After a long afternoon of playing outside, my sisters, brother and I would come running inside begging for a bowl of “pud” or pudding – a common English reference to dessert.

I may have dressed it up a bit for serving in the restaurant and at events, but it is still a family favorite.

Make a large layered version in a trifle dish or individual versions in dessert bowls or wine glasses. Either way, your guests will love every bite.

English Sherry Trifle

1 can mandarin oranges

1/2 cup strawberry jam

1/2 cup Harvey’s Bristol Cream Sherry

1 pound cake, cubed

1 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped to stiff peaks

2 cups prepared egg custard

Make custard as per recipe. In a large bowl whisk together the liquid from the can of oranges, the sherry and the jam. Place a layer of pound cake over the bottom of a dish. Spread a layer of the liquid over the pound cake and then a layer of oranges and custard. Continue to layer until all ingredients are used. Refrigerate and then top with whipped cream and serve.

Text Only
Opinion
  • 7-26-simon-slaw.jpg Cooking with Simon: Stomp grapes and eat Texas food

    If you’re picking up the newspaper on Saturday, you still have a chance to come out to Sabor a Pasion and celebrate the grape harvest at the 2nd Annual Charity Grape Stomp.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • Two decades of storytelling

    For the past 20 years, I have covered everything under the sun while working as community editor at the Palestine Herald-Press. I have covered festivals, banquets, graduations, fires, wrecks, elections, giant vegetables, you name it, I probably wrote about it.

    July 26, 2014

  • At the Movies: 'Begin Again' — Fresh tale creates appeal

    Some people film big pictures.  Others do small pictures.  Writer-director John Carney makes small pictures. 

    July 26, 2014

  • IMG_1373.jpeg COOKING WITH SIMON: Summer produce brings recipe inspiration

    Chefs are always recreating their menus and finding new inspiration for recipes. People ask me how where my new ideas come from and what I do to get inspired. The answer – mowing the lawn – and, by the way, I have a lot of lawn, vineyard and fields to mow.

    July 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • Swiss Chard  & Peach Salad COOKING WITH SIMON: Garden vegetables ready to harvest

    Last month, I was invited to cook for a group of clients at a fishing lodge in Alaska. It was quite an experience – beautiful scenery, amazing salmon, halibut, and great accessibility to some of the best fishing in the world.

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • watermelon COOKING WITH SIMON: Red, white and watermelon

    Happy 4th of July weekend! On every street corner the fruit of Texas is being sold from the back of old trucks and roadside produce stands.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMN: Musings about life and the pursuit of happiness

    Yesterday was July 4th, a time we celebrate independence and the truths that all men are created equal and “endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,” to quote Mr. Jefferson.

    July 5, 2014

  • MOVIE REVIEW: 22 Jump Street

    I should have known better.  Just like “Legally Blonde” and “Dumb and Dumber,” a comedy based on a premise as opposed to one based on truly funny characters merged with a clever situation should never have a sequel.

    July 3, 2014

  • 6-28--SIMON-Lamb-Sliders.jpg Cooking with Simon: Celebrate July 4th with lamb burgers

    Being born in one country and raised in another can bring a bit of confusion to one’s life. And then to find yourself living in a third country as an adult, is one reason this kiwi is all messed up.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editor's Notebook: Kids can create their own summer fun

    Things are so different today than when I was a kid. A recent conversation with my 9-year-old son reinforced my belief.

    June 28, 2014