The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Opinion

May 24, 2014

Freedom isn't free

PALESTINE — EDITOR’S NOTE: This column is being reprinted from the May 25, 2013, edition of the Herald Press.

My dad kept his car and pickup immaculately clean. He washed and waxed them with great regularity vacuuming the interior as frequently.

Very concerned with the inward and outward appearance of his vehicle, he was not a fan of bumper stickers. Nonetheless, later in his life, just a few years before his death, he placed a small bumper sticker on the rear bumper of his vehicle.

As I pulled into the driveway of his home and parked behind his vehicle, the garage door was up and I couldn’t help but notice the solitary bumper sticker newly applied to his automobile. As a veteran of World II he understood the depth and significance of its message: “Freedom Isn’t Free”.

Today on the Palestine Herald-Press web site we have a Memorial Day tribute titled “Freedom Isn’t Free.”  Dr. Halsey Settle, M.D. from Austin sent this photographic and musical slide show to me. Dr. Settle, known by family and friends as “Happy,” is a retired Navy Captain having served among other assignments as a physician on submarines.

Happy is also my brother-in-law and shares many patriotic emails with me. None have had more meaning for me personally than this most recent, “Freedom Isn’t Free.” I have elected to have it on our web site during the Memorial Day weekend because it is most appropriate for this national holiday and for one other important and personal reason.  

My dad served in World War II along with hundreds of thousands of other brave American men and women. He returned from the war alive unlike thousands, but seriously wounded as were many other of our fine American soldiers. From his injury, he bore many scars and suffered a leg amputation. Still, I never heard him complain.

I trust you, as well, understand and appreciate the freedoms we enjoy in America. More importantly, I hope you will be especially thankful this weekend for the sacrifices all our American soldiers have made and make every day to keep American free.

May God continue to bless America.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 7-26-simon-slaw.jpg Cooking with Simon: Stomp grapes and eat Texas food

    If you’re picking up the newspaper on Saturday, you still have a chance to come out to Sabor a Pasion and celebrate the grape harvest at the 2nd Annual Charity Grape Stomp.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • Two decades of storytelling

    For the past 20 years, I have covered everything under the sun while working as community editor at the Palestine Herald-Press. I have covered festivals, banquets, graduations, fires, wrecks, elections, giant vegetables, you name it, I probably wrote about it.

    July 26, 2014

  • At the Movies: 'Begin Again' — Fresh tale creates appeal

    Some people film big pictures.  Others do small pictures.  Writer-director John Carney makes small pictures. 

    July 26, 2014

  • IMG_1373.jpeg COOKING WITH SIMON: Summer produce brings recipe inspiration

    Chefs are always recreating their menus and finding new inspiration for recipes. People ask me how where my new ideas come from and what I do to get inspired. The answer – mowing the lawn – and, by the way, I have a lot of lawn, vineyard and fields to mow.

    July 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • Swiss Chard  & Peach Salad COOKING WITH SIMON: Garden vegetables ready to harvest

    Last month, I was invited to cook for a group of clients at a fishing lodge in Alaska. It was quite an experience – beautiful scenery, amazing salmon, halibut, and great accessibility to some of the best fishing in the world.

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • watermelon COOKING WITH SIMON: Red, white and watermelon

    Happy 4th of July weekend! On every street corner the fruit of Texas is being sold from the back of old trucks and roadside produce stands.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMN: Musings about life and the pursuit of happiness

    Yesterday was July 4th, a time we celebrate independence and the truths that all men are created equal and “endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,” to quote Mr. Jefferson.

    July 5, 2014

  • MOVIE REVIEW: 22 Jump Street

    I should have known better.  Just like “Legally Blonde” and “Dumb and Dumber,” a comedy based on a premise as opposed to one based on truly funny characters merged with a clever situation should never have a sequel.

    July 3, 2014

  • 6-28--SIMON-Lamb-Sliders.jpg Cooking with Simon: Celebrate July 4th with lamb burgers

    Being born in one country and raised in another can bring a bit of confusion to one’s life. And then to find yourself living in a third country as an adult, is one reason this kiwi is all messed up.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editor's Notebook: Kids can create their own summer fun

    Things are so different today than when I was a kid. A recent conversation with my 9-year-old son reinforced my belief.

    June 28, 2014