The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Opinion

April 27, 2013

COOKING WITH SIMON: The great flavor of the Lone Star State

:

PALESTINE — Have you noticed some of the great products and foods that are home-grown right here in Texas, not to mention the East Texas area?

Just look at all the cheese, beef, lamb, chickens and wine that are part of the wide array of Texas commodities. That’s why the GO TEXAN brand was created.

Texas Agriculture Commissioner and Anderson County native, Todd Staples has been developing the GO TEXAN brand since being elected to the office in 2006. Staples, the hard-working Texas producers and the quality that GO TEXAN represents has made Texas a leader in food commodities across the nation and worldwide.

So this New Zealand Kiwi, turned Texan, enjoys using Texas grown food and supporting Texas products whenever possible.

This week’s recipe features East Texas onions and goat cheese. It’s a crisp crostini topped with sweet onion marmalade and creamy goat cheese. It’s the perfect blend of sweet, sour, pungent and creamy. The marmalade is also great on steak, pork and even chicken.

 

RED ONION MARMALADE

2 large red onions or 4 Noonday Onions, sliced thin

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Salt and black pepper

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 clove garlic

Add oil to a sauté pan and cook over low heat until onions are soft. Add salt, pepper and garlic. Add brown sugar. Stir until caramelized. Add vinegar and reduce by half. Allow to cool and refrigerate until ready to serve.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 7-26-simon-slaw.jpg Cooking with Simon: Stomp grapes and eat Texas food

    If you’re picking up the newspaper on Saturday, you still have a chance to come out to Sabor a Pasion and celebrate the grape harvest at the 2nd Annual Charity Grape Stomp.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • Two decades of storytelling

    For the past 20 years, I have covered everything under the sun while working as community editor at the Palestine Herald-Press. I have covered festivals, banquets, graduations, fires, wrecks, elections, giant vegetables, you name it, I probably wrote about it.

    July 26, 2014

  • At the Movies: 'Begin Again' — Fresh tale creates appeal

    Some people film big pictures.  Others do small pictures.  Writer-director John Carney makes small pictures. 

    July 26, 2014

  • IMG_1373.jpeg COOKING WITH SIMON: Summer produce brings recipe inspiration

    Chefs are always recreating their menus and finding new inspiration for recipes. People ask me how where my new ideas come from and what I do to get inspired. The answer – mowing the lawn – and, by the way, I have a lot of lawn, vineyard and fields to mow.

    July 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • Swiss Chard  & Peach Salad COOKING WITH SIMON: Garden vegetables ready to harvest

    Last month, I was invited to cook for a group of clients at a fishing lodge in Alaska. It was quite an experience – beautiful scenery, amazing salmon, halibut, and great accessibility to some of the best fishing in the world.

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • watermelon COOKING WITH SIMON: Red, white and watermelon

    Happy 4th of July weekend! On every street corner the fruit of Texas is being sold from the back of old trucks and roadside produce stands.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMN: Musings about life and the pursuit of happiness

    Yesterday was July 4th, a time we celebrate independence and the truths that all men are created equal and “endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,” to quote Mr. Jefferson.

    July 5, 2014

  • MOVIE REVIEW: 22 Jump Street

    I should have known better.  Just like “Legally Blonde” and “Dumb and Dumber,” a comedy based on a premise as opposed to one based on truly funny characters merged with a clever situation should never have a sequel.

    July 3, 2014

  • 6-28--SIMON-Lamb-Sliders.jpg Cooking with Simon: Celebrate July 4th with lamb burgers

    Being born in one country and raised in another can bring a bit of confusion to one’s life. And then to find yourself living in a third country as an adult, is one reason this kiwi is all messed up.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editor's Notebook: Kids can create their own summer fun

    Things are so different today than when I was a kid. A recent conversation with my 9-year-old son reinforced my belief.

    June 28, 2014