The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Opinion

October 26, 2013

COOKING WITH SIMON: Warm up with a savory beef, mushroom pie

(Continued)

PALESTINE — Beef and Mushroom

Hand Pies

Ingredients

2 tablespoons oil

1 pound beef tips, 1 inch cubes

1/2 diced onion

8 ounces mushrooms, quartered

1 bay leaf

Salt pepper

1 clove garlic, minced

1 cup red wine

2 tablespoons flour

2 cups beef stock

Directions

Add oil to a heavy bottom saucepan and heat on high. Add beef and brown on all sides. Season with salt and pepper. Add red wine and reduce by half. Add diced onions, sliced mushrooms, clove of garlic, bay leaf and flour. Stir for 1 minute. Add the stock. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cover and let simmer until meat is fork tender. This may take an hour or longer. Remove the bay leaf, chill and use as the pie filling. Pies should be baked at 350 degrees until filling is heated through and crust is golden

Text Only
Opinion
  • Two decades of storytelling

    For the past 20 years, I have covered everything under the sun while working as community editor at the Palestine Herald-Press. I have covered festivals, banquets, graduations, fires, wrecks, elections, giant vegetables, you name it, I probably wrote about it.

    July 26, 2014

  • At the Movies: 'Begin Again' — Fresh tale creates appeal

    Some people film big pictures.  Others do small pictures.  Writer-director John Carney makes small pictures. 

    July 26, 2014

  • IMG_1373.jpeg COOKING WITH SIMON: Summer produce brings recipe inspiration

    Chefs are always recreating their menus and finding new inspiration for recipes. People ask me how where my new ideas come from and what I do to get inspired. The answer – mowing the lawn – and, by the way, I have a lot of lawn, vineyard and fields to mow.

    July 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • Swiss Chard  & Peach Salad COOKING WITH SIMON: Garden vegetables ready to harvest

    Last month, I was invited to cook for a group of clients at a fishing lodge in Alaska. It was quite an experience – beautiful scenery, amazing salmon, halibut, and great accessibility to some of the best fishing in the world.

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • watermelon COOKING WITH SIMON: Red, white and watermelon

    Happy 4th of July weekend! On every street corner the fruit of Texas is being sold from the back of old trucks and roadside produce stands.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMN: Musings about life and the pursuit of happiness

    Yesterday was July 4th, a time we celebrate independence and the truths that all men are created equal and “endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,” to quote Mr. Jefferson.

    July 5, 2014

  • MOVIE REVIEW: 22 Jump Street

    I should have known better.  Just like “Legally Blonde” and “Dumb and Dumber,” a comedy based on a premise as opposed to one based on truly funny characters merged with a clever situation should never have a sequel.

    July 3, 2014

  • 6-28--SIMON-Lamb-Sliders.jpg Cooking with Simon: Celebrate July 4th with lamb burgers

    Being born in one country and raised in another can bring a bit of confusion to one’s life. And then to find yourself living in a third country as an adult, is one reason this kiwi is all messed up.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editor's Notebook: Kids can create their own summer fun

    Things are so different today than when I was a kid. A recent conversation with my 9-year-old son reinforced my belief.

    June 28, 2014

  • COOKING WITH SIMON: Beautiful berries in a no-cook dessert

    The berry season is upon us and with such an abundance of fruit there are so many ways to eat them. The list goes on with strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and raspberries.

    June 21, 2014