The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas

Opinion

January 19, 2013

AgriLife: Extension office hosting weight loss program

PALESTINE — Did you go from hearing bells jingling to thighs jiggling?

Just in time for your new year’s resolution of a healthy lifestyle, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension and the Palestine Resource Center will launch a new 8-week weight loss program called “Step Up & Scale Down.”

The program will consist of:

• Weekly lessons to help you manage weight.

• A weekly weight check-in.

• A weekly challenge to help you “stay the course.”

• Dinner Tonight! healthy recipes and eating tips.

• Exercise resources.

• A weight-loss planner with a food journal and exercise tracker.

Classes are held from noon to 12:50 p.m. beginning Monday, Jan. 28 and continuing weekly for eight weeks at the Palestine Resource Center for Independent Living.

Cost for the program is $25 and participants must pre-register by Wednesday. A healthy lunch will be provided each week

To register, come to the Anderson County Extension Office or mail a $25 check, along with your name, address and phone number to 101 E. Oak St., Palestine, TX 75801.

Make checks payable to “Program Development Fund.”

Step Up & Scale Down is a researched based program that has proven success in weight-loss and the increase of healthy lifestyle habits. It is a great program to do with a friend or family member. It is always easier to reach your goals when you have additional support. For more information, call Holly Black at 903-723-3735.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • 7-26-simon-slaw.jpg Cooking with Simon: Stomp grapes and eat Texas food

    If you’re picking up the newspaper on Saturday, you still have a chance to come out to Sabor a Pasion and celebrate the grape harvest at the 2nd Annual Charity Grape Stomp.

    July 26, 2014 2 Photos

  • Two decades of storytelling

    For the past 20 years, I have covered everything under the sun while working as community editor at the Palestine Herald-Press. I have covered festivals, banquets, graduations, fires, wrecks, elections, giant vegetables, you name it, I probably wrote about it.

    July 26, 2014

  • At the Movies: 'Begin Again' — Fresh tale creates appeal

    Some people film big pictures.  Others do small pictures.  Writer-director John Carney makes small pictures. 

    July 26, 2014

  • IMG_1373.jpeg COOKING WITH SIMON: Summer produce brings recipe inspiration

    Chefs are always recreating their menus and finding new inspiration for recipes. People ask me how where my new ideas come from and what I do to get inspired. The answer – mowing the lawn – and, by the way, I have a lot of lawn, vineyard and fields to mow.

    July 19, 2014 3 Photos

  • Swiss Chard  & Peach Salad COOKING WITH SIMON: Garden vegetables ready to harvest

    Last month, I was invited to cook for a group of clients at a fishing lodge in Alaska. It was quite an experience – beautiful scenery, amazing salmon, halibut, and great accessibility to some of the best fishing in the world.

    July 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • watermelon COOKING WITH SIMON: Red, white and watermelon

    Happy 4th of July weekend! On every street corner the fruit of Texas is being sold from the back of old trucks and roadside produce stands.

    July 5, 2014 1 Photo

  • COLUMN: Musings about life and the pursuit of happiness

    Yesterday was July 4th, a time we celebrate independence and the truths that all men are created equal and “endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights,” to quote Mr. Jefferson.

    July 5, 2014

  • MOVIE REVIEW: 22 Jump Street

    I should have known better.  Just like “Legally Blonde” and “Dumb and Dumber,” a comedy based on a premise as opposed to one based on truly funny characters merged with a clever situation should never have a sequel.

    July 3, 2014

  • 6-28--SIMON-Lamb-Sliders.jpg Cooking with Simon: Celebrate July 4th with lamb burgers

    Being born in one country and raised in another can bring a bit of confusion to one’s life. And then to find yourself living in a third country as an adult, is one reason this kiwi is all messed up.

    June 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editor's Notebook: Kids can create their own summer fun

    Things are so different today than when I was a kid. A recent conversation with my 9-year-old son reinforced my belief.

    June 28, 2014