The Palestine Herald, Palestine, Texas


April 26, 2009

Texas Music Awards

People from all over Texas descended upon Palestine for the 7th annual Texas Music Awards - filling up the Palestine Civic Center with cowboy boots, cowboy hats and high heels Sunday.

Legendary cowboy singer, songwriter and cowboy poet Michael Martin Murphey known for his songs "Wildfire," "Cherokee Fiddle" and "What's Forever For?" among others, not only served as the award show host - he won the biggest award of the night - Entertainer of the Year.

Making the awards show unique for the Palestine area was seeing two of its own win awards.

Country singer Crystal Sands of Frankston won the Female Vocalist of the Year award.

Dave Wheaton of KBHT Grapeland won a special award along with J.B. Cloud of KBCY of Abilene, presented by show organizers Jinelle and Lucky Boyd.

Here is a list of all of the awards presented:

• Entertainer of the Year - Michael Martin Murphey

• Female Vocalist of the Year - Crystal Sands of Frankston

• Male Vocalist of the Year - Wade Bowen of Austin ("If We Ever Make It Home")

• Vocal Duo or Group of the Year - Smythe and Taylor of Houston

• Live Band - Ben Morris and the Great American Boxcar Chorus of College Station

• Rising Star of the Year - Cody Riley of Canton ("Everything In Color")

• Album of the Year - Highspeed Hayride of Goliad ("Highspeed Hayride")

• Singer/Songwriter of the Year - Connie Mims of The Woodlands

• Song of the Year - "Gather 'Round" by Tres Womack of Bastrop

• Record of the Year - "Lucky Me Lonely You" by Jerry Audley of Anna ("Audley Enough")

• Musician of the Year - Rodney Pyeatt, guitar, of Temple (Everything in Color)

• Producer of the Year - Billy High of Cuero, "Highspeed Hayride" (Highspeed Hayride)

• Disc Jockey - Ryan Fox of 99.5 The Wolf, Fort Worth

• Broadcast Radio Station - KHYI 95.3 FM of Dallas

• Internet Radio Station - Radio Free Texas (

Text Only
In The News

Local News
Local Sports