The ballots for the Democratic and Republican primaries in March have been set with the close of the filing period on Monday.

The Anderson County Judge’s race saw a last-minute filer as Anderson County Precinct 2 Commissioner Darrell Emanuel filed as an independent candidate for the post.

In addition to the judge’s race, Kenneth R. Jordan filed as an independent for the Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace position.

Independent candidates must file with the county judge. After the primary election, independent candidates are required to collect 500 signatures or signatures equal to 5 percent of the total vote of the most recent governor’s race. The signatures must be from county residents if a county office or precinct if precinct office. The collected signatures must be from people who have not voted in either primary election, according to Anderson County Judge Carey McKinney.

The primary election is set for March 7 with the general election slated for Nov. 7.

Political candidates for the upcoming elections include:

• State Senator, District 3 — Frank Denton, Republican; Dave Kleiman, Republican; Robert Nichols, Republican; and Bob Reeves, Republican

• State Representative, District 8 — Sharon Cade Davis, Democrat; Byron Cook, Republican incumbent

• State Agriculture Commissioner — Hank Gilbert, Democrat; Koecadee Melton Jr., Democrat

• District Judge, 87th Judicial District — Deborah Oakes Evans, Republican incumbent

• District Judge, 369th Judicial District — Bascom William Bentley III, Republican incumbent

• District Attorney — Doug Lowe, Democrat incumbent

• County Judge — Ava Harmon, Democrat; Carey McKinney, Democrat incumbent; Linda Ray, Democrat; Susan Perryman-Evans, Republican; Darrell Emanuel, independent

• Tax Assessor-Collector (unexpired term) — Teri Garvey, Republican; Donna C. Bentley, Republican

• Judge, County Court at Large — Jeff Doran, Democrat incumbent

• District Clerk — Janice Staples, Democrat incumbent

• County Clerk — Wanda Burke, Democrat incumbent

• County Treasurer — Sharon Cook-Paterson, Democrat incumbent; Judd Quarles, Republican

• County Surveyor — Gene Russell, Democrat incumbent

• County Commissioner Precinct 2 — L.W. Terry, Democrat; Rodney A. Howard Sr., Democrat; Rashad Q. Mims I, Democrat; Larry Coker, Republican; Philip Crutcher, Republican;

• County Commissioner Precinct 4 — Randy B. Watkins, Democrat incumbent; Mike BeCraft Sr., Democrat

• Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 — Pat Douthit-Green, Democrat; Gary Thomas, Democrat; Charles T. “Chuck” Wallace, Republican

• Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 — Carl E. Davis, Democrat incumbent

• Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 — James E. Todd, Democrat incumbent

• Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 — James W. Westley, Republican incumbent; Henry R. Kitchens, Republican; Mary Lane, Republican

Recommended for you