Palestine's Adrian Peterson

Adrian Peterson, wearing his customary high school No. 28, leaps over a pile for a TD during a Palestine High School football game at Wildcat Stadium. The year of the photo is unknown. 

WACO — Former Palestine High School and current Washington Redskins' running back Adrian Peterson is set for induction into The texas High School Football Hall of Fame.

While Peterson was playing Saturday versus the Tennessee Titans about 675 miles away, he was recognized during the University Interscholastic League state football championships at AT&T Stadium in Arlington.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on May 4, 2019, with a banquet at the Ferrell Center on the Baylor University campus.

Peterson rushed for 2,051 yards and 22 TD during his junior year at Palestine — which was considered his breakout season. He gained 2,960 yards and had 32 TD as a senior.

Then “All Day” starred at the University of Oklahoma, where he rushed for 1,843 yards as a freshman — and he was All-Big 12 three times before the Minnesota Vikings selected Peterson in the 2007 National Football League draft.

Peterson will be joined by a who's who of Texas' football history: Players Ken Casner (Waco), Ken Houston (Lufkin Dunbar), Putt Choate (Coahoma), Willie Everett (Daingerfield), Jason Bragg (Stephenville), coaches Scott Phillips (Groveton, Waxahachie and Plano East) and T.J. Mills (Sealy) and contributor Jon Heidtke.

Casner was one of the best Texas high school players of the 1940s, before he eventually starred at Baylor.

Houston played in 12 straight NFL Pro Bowls during his Hall of Fame career.

Choate rushed for more than 3,300 yards at Coahoma; then he became a top linebacker (649 tackles) for Southern Methodist University in its heyday of the early 1980s.

Everett was on a Daingerfield team that allowed just eight points in 16 games en route to a state title in 1983.

Bragg was a defensive back and wide receiver at Stephenville before playing two years at Texas A&M in the mid-1990s.

Phillips won state championships at Groveton in 1989 and Waxahachie in 1992, finishing with a career record of 234-73-3. He was coach at Plano East in that school's famous 1994 loss to Tyler John Tyler at old Texas Stadium. Mills coached Sealy to four consecutive titles during the 1990s.

Heidtke was responsible for developing the partnership between the UIL and Fox Sports Southwest, ensuring high school coverage when he was general manager for the network.

Tickets for the event may be purchased by calling Tiffany Wilkins at: or call 210-290-8570 by April 30, 2019.