Staff Reports

The Elkhart Elks had five District 21-2A first-team selections while Grapeland had four and Frankston had three selections as the All-District team was released Monday.

The Yonts brothers head the Elkhart first-team selections as senior Clay Yonts was a first-team quarterback and Chris Yonts, a junior, was a first-team running back.

Clay Yonts was 83-of-158 passing for 1,362 yards and eight touchdowns.

Chris Yonts rushed for 1,278 yards on 221 carries and scored 18 touchdowns.

Elkhart junior wide receiver Austin Evans was a first-team selection after catching 35 passes for 819 yards and eight touchdowns.

Elks’ teammate Ricky Brooks, a senior, tight end was named to the first team after having 18 catches for 187 yards.

Elkhart offensive lineman Jerry Verner, a senior, rounds out the five Elk first-team selections.

Grapeland had three players selected to the first-team defense.

Jim Ed Hughes, a senior, was named as a first-team defensive tackle; Stephen Lewis was a first-team defensive end and Ethan Owens was a first-team linebacker.

Jaz Walker was a first-team wide receiver for Grapeland after making 33 catches for 688 yards and two touchdowns.

Frankston’s James Glaspie was a duel first-team selection as a running back and kick returner. Glaspie, a senior, rushed for 1,081 yards on 192 carries and seven touchdowns.

Frankston linebackers Ray Rainone, a junior, and Michael Walker, a sophomore, were both first-team defensive selections.

Following are the complete District 21-2A selections.

Most Valuable Player: Keltric Williams, Kerens, running back/linebacker, senior.

Offensive MVP: Austin Bell, Kerens, quarterback, junior.

Defensive MVP: Jared Lindsey, Alto, defensive tackle, senior.

Newcomer: Clayton Scott, Alto, linebacker, sophomore.

Coach of the Year: Mike Loveless, Kerens

First Team

Quarterbacks — Clay Yonts, Elkhart, senior; Julian Willis, Alto, junior.

Running backs — James Glaspie, Frankston, senior; Chris Yonts, Elkhart, junior; Jackie Coleman, Malakoff, junior; Dalton Coia, Malakoff, junior; Freddy LeBaron, Cross Roads, senior.

Tight Ends — Ricky Brooks, Elkhart, senior; Cody Youngman, Malakoff, senior.

Wide Receivers — Jaz Walker, Grapeland, junior; Austin Evans, Elkhart, junior; Fred Cumby, Kerens, senior; Coy Lancaster, Kerens, senior; Tarcellus Mitchell, Alto, senior.

Offensive line — Jerry Verner, Elkhart, senior; Jason Russell, Kerens, senior; Tony Luna, Kerens, senior.

Kicker — David Johnson, Cross Roads, senior.

Returner — James Glaspie, Frankston, senior.

First Team Defense

Defensive Tackles — Jim Ed Hughes, Grapeland, senior; Derek Mumphrey, Alto, sophomore; Ryan Reeves, Malakoff, senior; Johnathan Hendrix, Cross Roads, senior.

Defensive Ends — Stephen Lewis, Grapeland, senior; Dedrick Tolliver, Kerens, junior; Kendrick Morrison, Alto, senior; Jeremy Lofton, Alto, junior; Aaron Reed, Malakoff, junior.

Linebackers — Ethan Owens, Grapeland, junior; Ran Rainone, Frankston, junior; Michael Walker, Frankston, sophomore; Jason Russell, Kerens, senior; Lance Low, Alto, senior.

Defensive Backs — Ontario Jefferson, Kerens, senior; Ced Humphrey, Kerens, senior; Tarlandus Mitchell, Alto, sophomore; Sean Marks, Malakoff, junior.

Punter — David Johnson, Cross Roads, senior.

Second Team

Quarterbacks — Terrance Faulk, Grapeland, junior; Coby Dawson, Malakoff, junior.

Running back — Marcuse Gasaway, Alto, junior.

Wide Receivers — Carl Faulk, Kerens, senior; Jeremy Williams, Grapeland, junior; Tanner Welch, Frankston, senior; Tyson Mitchell, Alto, junior.

Offensive line —Brody Bingham, Elkhart, junior; Lance Lamb, Elkhart, junior; Dedrick Tolliver, Kerens, junior; MJ Ned, Kerens, senior; Ben Johnson, Alto, junior; Garrett Davis, Alto, senior; Eric Ellis, Malakoff, junior; Taylor Baker, Malakoff, junior.

Kicker — Cole Lancaster, Kerens, junior.

Returner — Tyson Mitchell, Alto, junior.

Second Team Defense

Defensive line — Ricardo Hernandez, Frankston; senior; Alex Hunt, Frankston, senior; Brad Walker, Malakoff, senior; Nathan Lozano, Cross Roads, senior; Ryan Lightfoot, Elkhart, senior; Klifton Scroggins, Elkhart, junior; William Martin, Kerens, senior; Mark Bryant, Kerens, senior.

Defensive Ends — Carl Faulk, Kerens, senior; Joseph Kirkpatrick, Cross Roads, junior.

Linebackers — Ty Richards, Grapeland, senior; Sterling Cotton, Kerens, junior; Jeremy Williams, Kerens, senior.

Defensive Backs — Chris Harvin, Malakoff, junior; Andrew Walker, Grapeland, senior; Austin Evans, Elkhart, junior; Trevor Scott, Alto, senior; Antron Dickerson, Alto, senior; Gerald Williams, Malakoff, freshman.

Punter — Jason Russell, Kerens, senior; Bo Smith, Grapeland, senior.

Recommended for you