PHS sports banquet 2019

The 2019 Wildcat soccer team honorees with plaques from Tuesday night's PHS Spring Sports Athletic Banquet. Four Wildcat soccer players and two coaches were awarded by the Texas Association of Soccer Coaches at the state or regional level. FROM LEFT: Jonathan Sanchez, All-State First Team; Riley Harper, All-State Second Team; Coach Hernandez, Region III Assistant Coach of the Year; Coach John Absalom, Region III Coach of the Year; Javier Leonor, All-State First Team; Christian Hutchinson, All-State First Team.

PALESTINE — The Palestine High School athletic department celebrated the student athletes of second semester sports at the 2019 Spring Athletic Banquet on Tuesday, May 14.

PHS does not name a single "Most Athletic" male and female student, but instead, each sport recognizes their most outstanding athletes. Here are this year’s honorees.

SWIMMING: John Berry earned the "Wildcat Golden Goggles" award, and Coyler LaFontaine was named Most Improved Wildcat. Sydney Veneris was chosen Most Improved Ladycat and got the "Ladycat Golden Goggles" award.

GIRLS BASKETBALL: Destiny Mathews was named the Lady 'Cats Most Valuable Player. Offensive MVP is Ja'Bria Simmons, Defensive MVP is Ja'Mya Reeves, and the "Fighting Ladycat" award went to Raina Hanzik.

BOYS BASKETBALL: Matt Wages and D'Michael Bellfield shared the title Offensive MVP. Defensive MVP is Ahmad Deckard, Jr. Enoch Fatade was named the team's Most Improved Player and the "Wildcat Award" went to Quintin Cook.

SOFTBALL: Co-MVPs are Brynna McQuire and Ka'Zem Wood. Sharing the title of Offensive Play of the Year are Fazaria Edwards and Lilianne Defore. The "Fighting Ladycat" award went to teammates Amirah Wyse and Helena Lara.

BASEBALL: Dylan Hollums was named Rookie of the Year. Chris Perez received the "Cy Young" Award. The "Golden Glove" was awarded to both Nemesio Vigil and Rusty Stephenson. John Michael Love earned the "Dirt Bag" award.

GIRLS TRACK: The Track Athlete of the Year award went to PHS' two state qualifiers: Ja'Bria Simmons and Shayla Arthur. Kristen Harris was named Scholar Athlete of the Year and Savanna Harris was chosen Most Improved.

BOYS TRACK: Marquis Thompson is the 2019 Track Athlete of the Year. Grant Attaway and Elvin Calhoun were both recognized as Scholar Athlete of the Year. Most Improved went to Armando Gante and Kobey Taylor, and Dejaun Ealy was named Thrower of the Year.

GIRLS SOCCER: Isabel Garcia was named the Lady Cats' Most Valuable Player and also earned the "Golden Boot" award. Offensive Player of the Year went to Salma Ruiz. Yaneli Casas was picked Defensive Player of the Year. Two players, Lauren Rocha and Judith Casas, were chosen Newcomer of the Year. Most Improved went to Paola Rangel.

BOYS SOCCER: Jonathan Sanchez was named the Wildcats' MVP. Offensive Player of the Year went to Riley Harper. Christian Hutchinson got the nod as Defensive Player of the Year. Javier Leonor received the "Golden Boot" award. Arturo Nieto was named Newcomer of the Year and Yoriel Reyes was selected Most Improved.